Skip to main content

Washington State Parks Free Day

Calendar/Event Details

Sun, January 1, 2023
Fri, November 24, 2023

Washington State Parks has announced the following free entrance days, when a Discover Pass will not be required to park a vehicle in a state park. 

2023 Discover Pass free days: 

  • Sunday, Jan. 1 – New Year’s Day and First Day Hikes
  • Monday, Jan. 16 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Thursday, March 9 - Billy Frank Jr.’s birthday 
  • Sunday, March 19 – Washington State Parks’ birthday
  • Saturday, April 22 – Earth Day
  • Saturday, June 10 – National Get Outdoors Day
  • Sunday, June 11 – Free Fishing Weekend
  • Monday, June 19 - Juneteenth 
  • Saturday, Sept. 23 – National Public Lands Day
  • Tuesday, Oct. 10 – World Mental Health Day
  • Saturday, Nov. 11 – Veterans Day
  • Friday, Nov. 24 – Autumn Day

Please note, free days apply only to day use (not overnight stays or rented facilities), A Discover Pass will still be required on these days to access lands managed by the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (unless noted).

Image: Fort Worden State Historial Park, Point Wilson Lighthouse

Event Details