Skip to main content

Sibling Stories: 21 Books That Celebrate Sib Bonds

A roundup of books about sibling relationships for tots to teens

Published on: April 03, 2020

Sibling Stories: 21 Books That Celebrate Sib Bonds

Sheila Rae, the Brave

Ages 3-6

Charlie and Lola

By Lauren Child, 2000 to 2012

Like the Berenstain Bears (Stan and Jan Berenstain), human children Charlie and Lola share everyday adventures, but with more humor and spunk. Patient big brother Charlie always has time to show his clever little sister Lola the ropes — and sometimes gets schooled in the process. The British cartoon series is charming for all ages; Lauren Child’s picture books are perfect for an older sibling to read to a younger one. Thanks to "I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato," we still eat moonsquirters at my house.

Ling and Ting

By Grace Lin, 2010 and ongoing

Ling and Ting are identical twins who do everything together, but who enjoy being not exactly the same in award-winning children’s author Grace Lin’s charming illustrated early reader series. Early readers who enjoy Ling and Ting can graduate to the Pacy Lin easy chapter books based loosely on Grace Lin’s own childhood as one of three sisters navigating multiple cultures in a Taiwanese-American family.

Sheila Rae, the Brave

By Kevin Henkes, 1996

Sheila Rae is the brave sister who doesn’t care about thunder or barking dogs. But when she gets lost taking a new route home from school, it’s her timid sister Louise who takes charge to get them home safely.

A+ for Big Ben

By Sarah Ellis, 2015

Ben is the youngest of three, and can’t do all the cool and important things his older brother and sister do. But they present him with a report card, grading Ben on all the things that little brothers do best. Available as a picture book and a board book.

Related Topics

Share this article with your friends!

Leave a Comment